In the election held at the 18th National Council of Young Catholic Students/Young Student Movement (YCS/YSM) - India at St. Joseph Vaz Renewal Centre, Old Goa on 23rd May 2019 Mr Deril Dsa of the diocese of Udupi was elected as the president (convener) along with other office bearers from different regions of India.

Most Rev. Dr Ignatius Dsouza, the Bishop of Bareilly and the Member Bishop of CCBI Youth Commission exhorted the newly elected office bearers to be fruitful in the ministry entrusted to them being vibrant active in the movement. Rev Fr. Chethan Machado, the National Chaplain of YCS/ YSM India administered the oath to the NT/EXCO members in the presence of around 150 delegates, animators, chaplains and guests from across the country.

The Council and the election was preceded by a study session which commenced on 17th May with a formal inaugural program. Rev Fr. Juze Remedios, Vicar General of the Archdiocese of Goa and Daman presided over the inaugural ceremony with Captain Viriato Fernandez who graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. The program was inaugurated by hoisting the National flag and the YCS flag by the chief guest. Addressing the gathering Capt. Fernandez asked the students to lead from the front through initiatives. Rev Fr. Chethan Machado, the National Chaplain of YCS/YSM India welcomed the gathering and firmly stated that “we need leaders who contribute” and urged the students to evaluate their lives, to SEE the needs of the society and people, to JUDGE them with sensitivity and to ACT with precision and effectiveness.

The inauguration was followed by the Eucharistic celebration with Rev. Fr. Juze Remedios as the main celebrant. In his thought provoking homily, Rev Fr. Savio Dsouza, the Diocesan Chaplain of Goa challenged the youth to break open the paths and be the first just as Jesus did and urged the youth to do so.

The initial 5 days of the Council deliberated on the theme, “Young students for youthful life: Self-identity; safe school and new society” which also paved a way for the theme and thrusts for the next 3 years of the movement in India.

The National Council began on 23rd May 2019 with the high mass presided by Rev. Fr Prakash Salagi, former National Chaplain of YCS/YSM India. The mass was followed by the commencement of the Council presided over by Ms Jesvita Quadras, the National President. This gathering included the National Executive Committee of YCS/YSM India (2016-2019), regional leaders from 8 regions that together constitute the National Council, together with few invitees associated with the movement.

The new National Team was elected during this council and will lead the movement in the country for the coming 3 years. The elected members are as follows; Deril D'Sa of Udupi – the convener (President), K. Mac Melvin of Hyderbad – the general secretary, Caleb D'Mello of Goa – the treasurer, Anjalina Ekka of Delhi – liturgy and cultural secretary, C. Tony of Madurai and Ashita Jimmy of Indore – editors of the Search magazine. Other members of the National team are; Cyphan Mascarenhas from Goa, Arpit Katara from MP, Abolon Taro from Guwahati, A. Anusha from Kottar Kanyakumari, L. Joseph Reddy from Hyderbad and Oscar Martin from Bareilly.

The national council came to an end with a solemn concluding programme, evaluation and an exposure visit 24th May 2019.

Comments powered by CComment

Home | News | Sitemap | Contact Us

Copyright © 2011 - www.ycsysmindia.com . Powered by eCreators

Contact Us

YCS/YSM National Office,
Archdiocesan Pastoral Centre,
25 Rosary Church Road, Santhome,
Chennai - 600004, Tamilnadu
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Phone: (+91) 9891792505